You are here
The Star Wars Films: In Chronological Order

The Star Wars Films: In Chronological Order

“They were at the wrong place at the wrong time naturally they became heroes”
-George Lucas (maybe)

With the release of Rogue One: A Star Wars Story this past weekend, we have decided it was time to breakdown the timeline of Star Wars films (live action) for those who may be uninitiated.

With out giving away too much information, Rogue One takes place between the first trilogy and the second, but is the most recently released. With this anthology film coming a year after Star Wars: The Force Awakens (which takes place last in the timeline), the franchise seems to be skipping around in the universe of the galaxy from “a long time ago”.

So for simplicity, we have created this handy little graphic to breakdown all the films, and let you wrap your head around when everything takes place.

What you have learned today

  • George Lucas only directed half of the currently released films
  • Timeline consistency is for losers
  • Everyone hates Jar Jar

If you want more information about this topic, or another one e-mail!
If I was wrong about any of the information, I apologize for being a dumbass. If you want to complain about it, email

Leave a Comment